Bhutan Board of Examinations History and Grading Scales

Prior to the establishment of the Bhutan Board of Examinations (BBE) (1986) all Year X and Year XII examinations in Bhutan were administered by the Council for the Indian School Certificate Examinations (CISCE) New Delhi. The CISCE and the BBE administered joint BB-ICSE examinations from 1996 to 2000. Starting in 2001 the BBE has been the sole administrator of the following examinations:

  • Lower Secondary School Certificate Examination (LSSCE) - Year VIII
  • Bhutan Certificate of Secondary Education (BCSE) Examination - Year X
  • Bhutan Higher Secondary Education Certificate (BHSEC) Examination - Year XII
  • Institute of Language and Cultural Studies (ILCS) Semtokha Year XII Rigzhung Examination

BCSE (conducted every December) consists of six subjects, including five compulsory. Pass certificate is awarded based on a minimum of five passes including English. Minimum subject pass is 35/100.

BHSEC consists of English, Dzhonka, three or four elective subject examinations, and an internal assessment of Socially Useful Productive Work (SUPW). Pass certificate is awarded based on a minimum of four passes including English (all in one sitting).

BHSEC Grading Scale
Numeric Grade Mark
1, 2 very good
3, 4, 5, 6 credit
7, 8 pass
9 failure






SUPW Grading Scale
Letter Grade Mark
A, B, C, D pass
E failure



News Archive

Select a Tag