Capital of Kazakhstan renamed again

In September 2022, the name of the capital city of Kazakhstan reverted to Astana. It had been called Nur-Sultan since 2019, when it was renamed after the out-going president, Nursultan Nazarbayev. Prior to that, the city had been named Astana after it became the capital in 1997.

During the Soviet era, the capital of Kazakhstan was the city of Almaty, but after the country gained independence in 1991, the capital was moved to the city of Akmola in 1997, and the following year its name was changed to Astana (Kazakh for capital city).




News Archive

Select a Tag