New Program Structure at Ecole Africaine des Métiers de l'Architecture et de l'Urbanisme (EAMAU) (Togo)

Ecole Africaine des Métiers de l'Architecture et de l'Urbanisme (EAMAU), a public institution, was established in 1975 through a resolution at a Summit of of the Chiefs of State of OCAM (Organisation Commune Africaine Malgaches et Mauricienne). Although it has the following member countries, its main location and teaching facilities are located in Togo.

Member countries:

  • West Africa: Benin, Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast, Guinée Bissau, Mali, Niger, Senegal, and Togo.
  • Central Africa: Cameroon, Central African Republic, Congo, Gabon, Equatorial Guinea, and Chad.

Until July 2010 EAMAU offered two programs requiring a secondary school leaving credential for admission (baccalauréat): a three-year (bac+3) program leading to the grade officiel de technicien supérieur en gestion urbaine (Official Degree of Higher Technician in Urban Management), and a six-year (bac+6) program leading to the grade officiel d'architecte urbaniste (Official Degree of Architect Urban Planner). Both programs were organized into cycles consisting of a number of 1-6 month certificate modules.

From 2010-2011 EAMAU offers semester-based course instruction towards a three-year (bac+3; 180 credits) licence (Licentiate) program followed by a two-year (bac+5; 120 credits) Master degree program. Both degrees are available in one of the following fields: Architecture, Urban Planning, and Urban Management. A doctorate is currently undergoing a feasibility study.



News Archive

Select a Tag