15 more Indian Institutes of Information Technology (IIITs) receive degree-granting powers

Indian Institutes of Information Technology (IIITs) are a group of institutions focused on information technology training. They are overseen and funded by the Ministry of Human Resources and Development. The first five IIITs were established between 1997 and 2013. In 2014, the four IIITs in Allahabad, Gwalior, Jabalpur and Kancheepuram were granted the status of Institutions of National Importance, which gives them the right to grant their own degrees.

Given the demand for IT education across the country, 20 more IIITs were established between 2013 and today. The new IIITs were set up as a Public-Private Partnership (PPP mode) where the funding is provided partially by the central government, state governments and industry partners (in the ratio 50:35:15). 

In March 2017, the Union Cabinet approved the Indian Institutes of Information Technology (Public- Private Partnership) Bill, 2017  which also grants degree-granting powers and status of Institutions of National Importance to the following 15 IIITs in PPP mode:

  1. Andhra Pradesh (Chittoor), 
  2. Assam (Guwahati) 
  3. Gujarat (Vadodara), 
  4. Haryana (Sonipat), 
  5. Himachal Pradesh (Una), 
  6. Jharkhand (Ranchi), 
  7. Karnataka (Dharwad), 
  8. Kerala (Kottayam), 
  9. Maharashtra  (Nagpur)
  10. Maharashtra (Pune), 
  11. Manipur (Senapati), 
  12. Rajasthan (Kota), 
  13. Tamilnadu (Tiruchirappalli), 
  14. Uttar Pradesh (Lucknow),
  15. Kalyani (West Bengal).



News Archive

Select a Tag