Regional Education Harmonization Efforts in the East African Community

Leaders in East Africa have developed a regional intergovernmental organization, the East African Community (EAC), to encourage economic, social, and political cooperation and integration within the area. The establishing treaty came into force in 2000, with Kenya, Tanzania, and Uganda as founding members. Burundi and Rwanda joined in 2007, while South Sudan is currently awaiting admission. The integration process began with customs and tariffs and has shifted to the development of a shared currency more recently. These changes are ongoing and will impact the education sector, as it is understood to be a vital part of the regional economy.

East African regional integration is not a new idea; various cooperation mechanisms, like the shared railway system of the colonial era, have long been employed across the region. After independence, Kenya, Uganda, and Tanzania worked together on a range of common economic issues, including shared postal services and an airline. In fact, the East African Community existed from 1967 to 1977, with very similar goals to those being discussed today. That body collapsed due to disagreements over politics and economics, but promises were made to find ways to continue cooperating and to strengthen commonalities. People who remember the fruits of this early collaboration have never given up their dreams for reintegration, and those that remember the upheaval associated with the dissolution of the first EAC are dedicated to making its modern incarnation last.... to read the rest of this article by Martha Van Devender, Educational Credential Evaluators, visit  TAICEP January 2016 Newsletter.

  • TranscriptResearch

    Great article, Martha!



News Archive

Select a Tag